I suggest you ...

(IDE) Make Inform more SCM compatible *VW*

I can't help it ... I'm a software engineer first and an IF author much, much, much further down the list. I want to keep my Inform project in SCM (Source Code Management). I use Git, which has no problem with many of the normal problems (spaces in the file names, etc.).

However, it's a little hit-or-miss figuring out which files are (re)generated from the source, and which are not. Some guidelines would be nice, and if all generated files were put in a subdirectory, that would be even better.

The biggest challenge is the Skein. It's stored as a single file, which means that it gets changed on each execution of the game. This would work better if there were too files: a temporary file (not for SCM) that contains recent runs, and a blessed file that contains the portions of the tree that have been locked or blessed.

I have to say, I like being able to see the history (hits and misses) of my IF over time ... just like with my other program source code.

60 votes
Vote
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    I agree to the terms of service
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    Howard M. Lewis ShipHoward M. Lewis Ship shared this idea  ·   ·  Admin →

24 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      I agree to the terms of service
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • curiousdanniicuriousdannii commented  ·